Thursday, 27 December 2012

Solent 40,000 FAQ's

These are the FAQ's for the Solent 40,000 Challenge,


Tournament Amendments

Pre-Game Sequence
All terrain will be pre-placed by the tournament organiser, players are not move any pieces of terrain.

Fortifications are to be placed, not within 1" of any existing terrain or fortification. Otherwise follow the rulebook for placement.

Continue as per the rulebook for the remainder of the pre game sequnence.

Rulebook

Modifiers
Q: If there is a contradictory 'set' modifier, which should I use?
A: Unless otherwise stated, roll of to see which modifier applys.

Shooting

Q: Can I use Look Out, Sir! (LOS) against attacks that do not cause wounds?
A: No, LOS can only be used against attacks that cause wounds.

Q: Some weapons use a straight line or 'beam' to affect enemy units, can I use this to target enemy units in close combat?
A: Yes. Although no enemy units can be targetted by shooting, the above type weapons are indiscriminate and can. Note that some abilities are expressly forbidden from picking a unit in combat as a target, but can still be hit as a consequence of this type of attack on a viable target.

Assault
Q: After I have moved my assaulting units, I have the models with the highest initiative. Does this mean that I still use a pile in move to get more models in to base to base?
A: Yes

Special Rules

Q: Are cover saves allowed against Vector Strike attacks?
A: Yes, as it does not have the 'ignores cover' and is not a close combat attack. Cover saves can only be taken if in, or in base to base contact with, terrain

Q: Blast and Template weapons can kill models out of line of sight of the firer. If such a weapon is mixed into a squad with normal weapons, how is this resolved? If such weapons ignore LOS, are the closest models removed regardless of LOS?
A: All blast weapons can ignore the Out Of Sight rule on page 16. As such, blast weapons follow the mixed wounds rule.

Q: Can I use my a models BS to reduce the scatter on a Barrage weapon to hit roll?
A: Yes, but not if the weapon fires indirectly.

Weapons
Q: What makes a power weapon 'unusual'?
A: If it has any unique rules. If it has any rules from the main rulebook it is not unique. If it has its own rules in a codex then it is unique. Eg: a master-crafted power axe is not unique, but an Agoniser is.

Unit Types
Q: FMC's have the 'Relentless Smash' special rule, what is this?
A: This is a typo, please change it to 'Relentless, Smash'

Vehicles
Q: When a vehicle Explodes it does not state that a transported unit disembarks, does a transported unit suffer any penalties in this instance?
A: Yes, treat the unit as having disembarked.

Q: What arc does a hull mounted weapon have?
A: 45 Degrees total (22.5 left, 22.5 right)

Q: If a Chariot is destroyed in close combat, is its passenger locked in combat with the attacking unit?
A: The transported unit is not a part of the combat, the chariot rules allows it to attack and be attacked only. It has to disembark as normal (so can be destroyed by surrounding the vehicle).

Q: If I assault a chariot, does it count as a disorganised as I am assaulting both the chariot and its passenger?
A: The transported unit is not a part of the combat, the chariot rules allows it to attack and be attacked only.

Characters
Q: If I take a unique character, can I convert its weapons to gain a certain type of force/power weapon?
A: No, it is always assumed that they come with the 'stock' weapon. In the case of a unique not yet having a model, you are free to model the weapon how you wish.

Army Selection
Q: As allies can be considered 'enemy' units, can they still be used to contest/capture objectives?
A: Yes, your UNITS consider the allies to be enemies, not you as a player. Note that Desperate allies are always non scoring and non denial units.

Missions
Q: In the Relic scenario a unit that controls the objective is placed into reserve (Nightscythe crashing, Deep Strike Mishap, etc). What will happen to the objective?
A: The objective cannot leave the tabletop. As the relic is not a passenger/squad member it is not sent into reserve. Leave the Relic marker at the point where the model was last placed. (rules change). Furthermore, if a unit uses Deep Strike to move with the Relic, the Relic will be left behind.

Necrons
Q: What are the effects on passengers of a destroyed Night Scythe?
A: They are placed in reserve, but suffer no damage.

Q: If an army containing the Stormlord takes allies, or is an ally of conveniance, do you roll to hit your allied units as they are treated as enemy models?
A: Yes

Q: Can the Stormlord's lightning ability affect zooming flyers and swooping monstrous creatures?
A: Yes, as it not prohibited from doing it in the GW FAQ's.


Q: Can the Arc special rules for Tesla affect FMC's and flyers (when 'flying'), as this does not use a BS to hit?
A: Yes. When this weapon ability occurs, no model is shooting at FMC's or flyers so is not subject to snap fire.

Q: If night fighting is in effect from game turn 5 onwards, does the Stormlords lightning start targetting units?
A: Yes

Q: Is the Death Ray a hull mounted or turret weapon?
A: It is hull mounted, meaning that all of its firing must be resolved in its front arc.

Q: Are members of the Royal Court attached to other units considered to be a part of that unit in all respects?
A: Yes

Q: Are there any specific examples of when Everliving will not be allowed to resurrect a model?
A: Yes. You may never make reanimation rolls for the following reasons:
- Death or Glory casualty
- Deep Strike Mishap
- Sweeping Advance casualties (any applicable model killed before hand can still attempt to roll)
- Boon of Mutation

Space Marines

Q: Are Vanguard veterans an exception to the normal rules of not being allowed to assault out of reserve?
A: Yes, but only if they use Heroic Intervention.

Q: What kind of power is Null Zone, and can I attempt to deny the witch against it?
A: It is a power without a type, page 68. As no unit has been targetted by this power deny the witch cannot be used.

Blood Angels

Q: Are Vanguard veterans an exception to the normal rules of not being allowed to assault out of reserve?
A: Yes, but only if they use Heroic Intervention.

Q: How long does the Sword of Sanguinous last?
A: One player turn.

Orks

Q: Is Zagstruks Vulcha Boyz mob an exception to the normal rules of not being allowed to assault out of reserve?
A: Yes

Q: If Weirdboy is granted a power weapon by dint of his psychic power, what type of weapon is it?
A: An unusual one.

Chaos Space Marines
Q: The Warpsmith can use his ability to curse an enemy vehicle, is this considered to be firing a weapon?
A: Yes, so is subject to all the normal rules for shooting.

Q: In the latest GW FAQ it suggests that Plague Zombies are now allowed to keep their original equipment, is this possible?
A: No, zombies are equipped with a single close combat weapon.

Space Wolves
Q: Are Runic weapons considered to Unusual force weapons?
A: No

Q: Can Njal's Vengeful Tornado affect zooming flyers and swooping flying monstrous creatures?
A: No, as it is considered to be an area effect weapon.


Sisters of Battle
Q: Is there anything that would stop Saint Celestine from entering play after she has been removed as a casualty?
A: Yes. You may never attempt to roll if she has been removed for the following reasons:
- Death or Glory casualty
- Deep Strike Mishap
- Sweeping Advance casualty
- Boon of Mutation

Forgeworld

This is a list of Forgeworld units, and the most recent publication they are listed in. These publications must be used if you wish to use the corresponding unit.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B0VsFRrZtHE2a1hTOExTdHdoZ1U/edit

Wednesday, 12 December 2012

Sold Out!

The Solent 40,000 Confrontation has now sold out! Thanks to all those who have bought tickets!

In other news, KR Cases are now sponsoring this event. 1st place will recieve a space marine load out aluminium case, and the best painted winner will get a cardboard case that can hold 160 miniatures.